Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday - The Continent




Expected publication: March 27th 2018

For her sixteenth birthday, Vaela Sun receives the most coveted gift in all the Spire—a trip to the Continent. It seems an unlikely destination for a holiday: a cold, desolate land where two nations remain perpetually locked in combat. Most citizens lucky enough to tour the Continent do so to observe the spectacle and violence of battle, a thing long vanished in the peaceful realm of the Spire. For Vaela, the war holds little interest. As a smart and talented apprentice cartographer and a descendent of the Continent herself, she sees the journey as a dream come true: a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to improve upon the maps she’s drawn of this vast, frozen land.

But Vaela’s dream all too quickly turns to nightmare as the journey brings her face-to-face with the brutal reality of a war she’s only read about. Observing from the safety of a heli-plane, Vaela is forever changed by the sight of the bloody battle being waged far beneath her. And when a tragic accident leaves her stranded on the Continent, Vaela finds herself much closer to danger than she’d ever imagined—and with an entirely new perspective as to what war truly means. Starving, alone, and lost in the middle of a war zone, Vaela must try to find a way home—but first, she must survive.

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Random Mini Review - The Witching Hour



The Witching Hour--that moment when every fiber of your beings says, "This is the time to do the magick, the ritual, the enchantment for what I need." It could be dawn, a misty twilight, or the deepest, darkest inky night. It's a time when all of your being urges you to get up, get moving, and get working! Confidence that you can easily step from the problem at hand to the success that you desire seething around you. And you know, to the depths of your soul, it is time for magick! The moment of your own power has matured!

This is a book of magic--formulas and techniques for working with herbal blends and powders, techniques for connecting to the ultimate oneness of universe, inspiration for deepening your magical work and seeing your intentions become real changes in the world.





Mini Book Breakdown 

Looking for simple spells, charms, chants, and powders? This book is for you! Not only does it contain these things and more but it also has ways to ground yourself, to cleanse yourself from negative energy. I love how to shows you to prepare for magic. The things to cleanse your mind and energy for ritual. There is quite a things that I can't wait to try after reading this book. So many herbal blends and powders and even a few meditations. I'm glad Silver RavenWolf has decided to write again. Her book To Ride a Silver Broomstick was the first Wiccan book I ever read and while I know some people don't like her, I find her writing easy to follow and informative. 

There is so much info in this book that I can't even begin to cover it in this little review, you need to read this book for yourself and you won't regret it. Also if you are looking for a step by step into herbal blends and powder, this is perfect for you! I loved how detailed it was, from the herbs themselves to the tools you will need to make your desired item. This is just a wonderful book. I'm so glad that NetGalley gave me a copy in exchange for an honest review!   



Saturday, September 16, 2017

Hunted - Book Breakdown (Review)


Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them. 

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance. 

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?




Mini Book Breakdown 

What I love most about this book is the setting. Medieval Russia, like hell yeah sign me up! I love going to other countries and I will always grab one that takes place somewhere else. Also, all that snow! God, I would love that. So beautiful. I'm like the only person ever than loves the snow and winter more than heat and summer. Which always makes me wonder why I live in the freaking South... ugh.

Now this isn't like any other Beauty and Beast retelling I've read. Beauty isn't some little sweet girl or even a hardcore bookworm (which I missed). She's a hunter, a damn good one too. She's also strong and takes no shit from anyone. She is also close to her sisters. I loved seeing their strong bond and how much they all really love each other. One of sisters was even ready and willing to give up the love of her life for her younger sister. It was so touching.

The Beast is pretty much what we have come to know with all these retellings so I won't waste time on him.

It all starts with her father going missing during a hunting trip. Yeva goes after him and instead of finding her father... she finds the Beast! There is also a whole other world filled with supernatural creatures that she is shown. Secrets abound and the ending is not quite what you think. 




Friday, September 15, 2017

Cover Reveal - Cursebreaker


Today I’m excited to share with you the cover of Taylor Fenner’s upcoming YA Historical Fantasy novel, CURSEBREAKER.


CURSEBREAKER is coming January 2, 2018! A standalone YA Historical Fantasy set in Viking era Scandinavia, CURSEBREAKER is a retelling of the Norwegian Fairytale, East O’ The Sun and West O’ The Moon. Pre-order your copy today! Kindle users – stay tuned for the pre-order coming in October! And don’t miss the gorgeous cover below…


Cover design by Taylor Fenner.

About CURSEBREAKER
A Scorned Queen, A Cursed Prince, A Girl begging for love and adventure...

History Channel's Vikings meets Norse Folklore and Mythology in this High Fantasy retelling of the Norwegian Fairy Tale, East O' The Sun and West O' The Moon.

Eighteen-year-old Helga "Hel" Daalgaard has accepted that the only love and adventure in her future live within the pages of the books her father brings for her from his travels. She's content helping around the home she shares with her parents and eight siblings; it may be a dull life but it's all she's ever known... until a polar bear arrives at their tiny cottage and offers up a strange proposal.

After spurning his young stepmother's advances, Prince Dyre is cursed to spend his days in the body of a polar bear. To break the curse he must find a woman to fall in love with him and stay with him for a year - but the woman of his choosing can never learn that he is truly a man or Dyre will be forced into a future even worse than spending his days as a polar bear. He thinks Hel could be the one to break the curse, but if Hel ever finds out what brought them together he may lose her forever.

Nobody ever crossed Viveka, Queen of Aldavellir, and lived to tell about it. Dyre is the only man alive that has turned her down but she'll have him whether he likes it or not. She'll make it impossible for the girl he's chosen to last long enough to break the curse. After all, queens don't have to play fair.

CurseBreaker is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Erin Summerill!


PREORDER YOUR COPY TODAY
§ Add to Goodreads §


About Taylor Fenner
Taylor Fenner grew up in a small town in Wisconsin. She's a strong believer in ghosts and the paranormal, which led to her interest in writing paranormal romance. Since then she has branched out into Urban Fantasy and now High Fantasy and Fairy Tale Retelling.

An admitted workaholic, when not working on a novel Taylor spends most of her time blogging about books, taking photos for her bookstagram account, binge watching the latest season of Vikings, and listening to music that's sure to ruin her hearing eventually.

In addition to CurseBreaker, Taylor is the author of The Haunting Love, Finding Elizabeth, Out of Darkness (Eternals Trilogy #1), Into the Light (Eternals Trilogy #2), Through the Fog (Eternals Trilogy #3), Eternal Fire: An Eternals Trilogy Novelette, and her upcoming New Adult debut, Headless, a contemporary reimagining of the Legend of Sleepy Hollow.


Connect with Taylor online:


50/50 Friday - Favorite/Least Favorite Series Cover Set

This meme is hosted by myself and the wonderful Laura from Blue Eye Books.



What is 50/50 Friday? 
Everyone has a favorite and then we also have something we dislike. Like a coin, there are two sides to every question. Example: best sequel you've read/worst sequel you've read.


Topic for the Week
Favorite/Least Favorite Series Cover Set



God this is so hard. I love so many covers and then I dislike so many series covers... it was so hard to narrow down. 



Favorites




Least Favorite

I like Winter but the rest... just not my thing really. 




Topic for Next Week
Author You'd Most/Least Like to Meet










Thursday, September 14, 2017

Llewellyn's Complete Book of Lucid Dreaming - Mini Review

Wake Up in Your Dreams and Live a Happier, More Lucid Life 

A lucid dream is a dream in which you become aware that you're dreaming. It's a powerful opportunity to solve problems, create new possibilities, take charge of your own healing, and explore the depths of reality. This book provides a range of practical techniques and activities to help you bring the creativity and super-conscious awareness of lucid dreaming into your life.

Join international expert Clare R. Johnson as she shares the most up-to-date lucid dreaming techniques on how to get and stay lucid, guide dreams, resolve nightmares, deepen creativity, and integrate dream wisdom into everyday life. Drawing on cutting-edge science and psychology, this book is packed with inspiring stories of life-changing lucid dreams and fascinating insights into topics such as the ethics of dream sex, how to interact with lucid dream figures, and the nature of consciousness.

Whether you're a person who barely remembers your dreams or a lifelong lucid dreamer, this in-depth guide is the perfect next step as you cultivate the power of lucid dreaming.




Book Breakdown 

I really don't know what to say about this book other than it really teaches you everything about Lucid Dreaming. I didn't know much about it when I started other than it's a way to 'wake up' in your dreams and control them. There is so much in this book that I can't even cover it all but I will say that if you are looking for some info on this type of thing, then this book is the perfect place to start! It has everything you need to get your going. It's kind of mind blowing the stuff it contains. 

*Thanks NetGalley for this book in exchange for an honest review*